What Celebrities Are Vegan and What Do They Eat?
More and more celebrities are even advocating for the vegan lifestyle. Many say their reasoning for switching is because of animal rights, while others simply just want to be healthier. Celebrities like Sia, Ellie Goulding, Zac Efron, and even Meghan, Duchess of Sussex are all openly vegan.
Miley Cyrus and Liam Hemsworth got married at the end of 2018. They are both reportedly vegan and had a very vegan wedding. Including the main dish that Cyrus couldn’t go without. A vegan twist on a classic, un-chicken and dumplings!
You can find one of my favorite vegan chicken and dumplings recipes here.
Ariana Grande is one of the biggest pop stars in the world right now. She has been a vegan since 2013. Ever since she decided to follow a vegan diet, she has been a strong activist in the animal rights community.
While she has been on tour this year, she has posted on several occasions, she and her team taking mid-show breaks to eat blueberries. Understanding they’re high in antioxidants and great for a boost of energy when you need it most!
You can find a delicious macrobiotic plant-based dinner here.
All of the vegan celebrities will agree that their vegan diet offers an abundance of nutrients that give them long-lasting energy. Food that fuels their bodies properly so they can maintain their hectic schedules without losing focus.
What Can’t Vegans Eat?
Initially, you may feel as though vegans can’t eat much of anything. As you may understand now, this is most certainly not the case. It is true that vegans don’t eat any animal, including fish. By any animal, I mean any animal. No cows, no chickens, no pigs, no Turkey, no deer, or rabbit and nothing out of the water.
We don’t eat anything that comes from an animal either. This includes all dairy products; milk, cheese, sour cream, and even mayonnaise. Vegans also stay away from eggs of any kind. Vegans are pretty much omnivores.
There are some products out there that will surprise you. Things you may think aren’t vegan when they are, and vice versa.
For instance, most beer is vegan. Some brewers will add animal-derived finings, like gelatin, to clarify the beer. Generally, British “real ale” beers are not vegan. Check out this article for more on non-vegan beers. In most cases though, beer is vegan-friendly.
Wine is a different story. Most wines are not vegan because of this fining process. Most wine companies will use a milk-based product, egg-based product or gelatin to clarify the wine.
One company that just reported having vegan wine is a vineyard in Arizona owned by the lead singer of the band Tool and Puscifer, James Maynard Keenan. Of course, he posted sarcastically on Instagram that his wines were in fact vegan after someone had asked him. He did so by posting a photo of himself (that has since been deleted) dipping a piece of bacon into one of the barrels, in typical Maynard fashion. Then clarified in the caption that his wines are vegan.
Popular vegan wines include:
Here is a list of some food favorites you wouldn’t guess are vegan:
I’ve also made a list of foods you might think are vegan but are not:
- Worcestershire Sauce
- Margarine (usually thought to be a nice vegan butter alternative. It contains traces of whey and gelatin)
- Planter’s peanuts (are coated in gelatin)
- Sweet and sour sauce (anchovies)
- Refried beans that contain lard
There are many different forms of being a vegetarian/pescatarian. You can even reduce your meat consumption, but not entirely exclude it from your diet, and still be considered a form of vegetarian. However, there is only one way to be vegan.
What Is the Difference Between a Vegetarian and a Vegan Diet?
When I first took meat out of my diet, I considered myself a vegetarian. For many years, in fact, I still consumed dairy products as well as eggs. After all, “How else would I get my protein?” I used to say. Still, naïve. It was a great choice for me though, to be a vegetarian. I didn’t feel completely over my head in this new territory, which lead me to stick with the lifestyle.
There are a few differences between vegetarians and vegans.
A good way I like to explain it to people is this:
Vegans don’t use or consume anything that comes from something that has a face.
- Bee pollen*
- Clothing made from animals, like leather
* Honey and bee pollen are two things that some vegans will still consume. Given the devastating numbers of the world bee population, many vegans stay away from honey and bee pollen entirely. However, bees have to make honey and bee pollen is something that is created naturally just by bees living. Because of this, some vegans will eat honey and bee pollen if it is sourced from a local beekeeper. Bee pollen specifically, is a great source for protein! As well as, vitamins, minerals, and antioxidants.
The vegan diet is not as scary as it may initially seem. When you are engrained in one lifestyle, different ways of living can cause some anxiety. Especially, when you are seriously thinking of adapting to this “different” way of living. It always helps to have support in lifestyle and diet changes. If you live with someone(s), changing your diet can become that much harder when you are the only one doing it.
There are many health benefits to a vegan diet. By no means does this diet restrict you in any way. Just because you aren’t eating or using animal products, does not mean you are restricted. The possibilities for vegan meals are endless. All you have to do is get started.